The New 2017 California Driving Laws - Temecula Insurance Agency - Carver for Auto, Home, Life & Health

The New 2017 California Driving Laws

New state driving laws are generally not as advertised to the public as celebrity gossip, so here are new California driving laws to know before you get caught breaking the law.

Every year, states update old driving laws and introduce new ones in an effort to keep up with technology and make the roads safer for everyone. Driving laws vary widely from state to state, so it is important that you read your own state's guidelines before you take anything to heart. Senate Bill 491 – The minimum damage that a car must receive in order for it be reported has now increased to $1,000. Senate Bill 839 – The price for transferring, renewing, or duplicating environmental license plates has increased $10 and is now $53. Assembly Bill 51 – Officially legalizes motorcycle lane-splitting and authorizes the California Highway Patrol to create and regulate safety guidelines. Assembly Bill 53 – Drivers must now secure their children aged two or younger in a rear-facing child passenger restraint system. Assembly Bill 1289 – Transportation Network Companies (Lyft, Uber, et cetera) must perform a background check on their drivers prior to employment in order to create a safer environment for their clients. Assembly Bill 1785 – Handheld cellphone use is now banned and they are required to be mounted on the dashboard, windshield, or center console in order to clear the driver's view of the road. The device must also take no more than one tap or swipe in order to activate or deactivate. Knowing the laws can only protect you up to a point because you can only control your actions, not the actions of others. Contact the insurance professionals at Carver Insurance Services, Inc. for all of your auto insurance needs in Murrieta, surrounding areas, and all of California.

Share this post